A CENTURIES-OLD GUILD HALL
The House of the Brotherhood of Black Heads, an elaborate, centuries-old guildhall, boasts some of the most stunning architecture in Tallinn’s Old Town. The most valuable, spectacular rooms in the building are the White Hall (1532), which was the first renaissance-style hall in Tallinn, and the two-naved, gothic St. Olaf’s Hall. Throughout its long and varied history, the guild has generated mysterious legends about saints, soldiers and adventurers, which have given names to the hall’s various rooms. The house now mainly serves as a stylish venue for concerts and other formal events.
Olaf’s Guild Hall is the oldest and most festive hall of the House of Blackheads in terms of its architecture. Olaf’s grand hall was built in 1419–1422 with two naves, and a rare ceiling with High Gothic stellar vaults is considered to be one of the most brilliant architectural masterpieces in Tallinn.