Gernot Marx

In the series of Slice of Life interviews, we are trying to get a look behind the business side of our business partners and well-known industry names. We explore what makes them tick and what occupies their day and thoughts when they are not at work. Keep on reading for a glimpse of Gernot Marx in his spare time.

Q: What gets you going in the morning?

It is important to follow the rituals. So, I start with a great coffee and a short mindfulness exercise on the terrace. I rely very much on the weather, so if it’s rainy, I put on some euphoric music to get my systems up and running.

Q: What is a personal project you are currently working on or wish you were?

I’m currently in an executive master’s degree in training and development and I love to learn new things about psychology and neurobiology. So, I also reflect a lot on what’s going on in the minds of people during these particularly challenging times and how things will change, affecting our day to day lives.

Q: How do you spend a normal weekend?

It depends on where I spend my weekend. If I am in the city, we take an early morning walk followed by a breakfast in a traditional coffee house and sometimes we just walk from one museum to another. If I stay outside the city in our house in the countryside, I mostly stay on the terrace or go to the lakes.

Q: What are your hobbies/what do you do for fun?

I could list a long list now, but what we mostly do is make use of the arts and culture that Salzburg, but also other cities have to offer. We very often go to theatres, operas, open-air pop concerts and cook a lot which reminds me to probably bring in some sports into my activities :)

Q: What do you count as your biggest non-work related achievement?

I engaged with many NGOs in the past and did a lot of volunteer work for NGOs. I do not count this as work as it was a kind of pay-back to the community. As a matter of fact, I did a lot for community media in Salzburg. I co-founded the Salzburg community TV, moderated a radio program for a non-profit community radio station and developed many diversity projects in the LGBTI community.

Q: How are you known among your friends?

They would probably see me as a committed person they can speak to about everything, get advice and have a lot of fun with. But mostly they’d say I am totally mad :)

Q: What is your absolutely favorite place in Austria that you love to visit and why?

It is the Salzkammergut with lake Fuschl and Wolfgangsee. For ten years we spend our annual leave of 10 days at Wolfgangsee. Although it is only 40 minutes away from Salzburg, it feels like I am far away from home.

Q: What kind of conference would you like to attend if you could choose?

I’d like to attend an inspirational business festival that would give me new ideas and bring me in touch with other creative people.

Q: What is your best source of information?

I think it is dangerous to favour only one source. So, I use many sources for different purposes in order to get various thoughts and perspectives about a subject. However, I do not use social media to gather information, but mostly a vast amount of quality media like newspapers’ and magazines’ online portals.

Q: What is the most interesting thing you’ve read or seen this week?

I read an article about the VUCA world and how it affects our work 4.0 model. I am very much interested in new work and organisational development which I am interested to see and participate in changing within and after COVID-19.